top of page

Stages of Kidney Disease

With chronic kidney disease (CKD) the kidneys usually don’t fail all at once. Instead, kidney disease often progresses slowly over a period of years. This is good news because if CKD is caught early, medicines and lifestyle changes may help slow its progress and keep you feeling your best for as long as possible.

Kidney disease is divided into five stages, each of which calls for different tests and treatments.

What are the 5 stages of kidney disease?

GFR, which stands for glomerular filtration rate, estimates kidney function. If your GFR is 26, that means your kidneys are working at approximately 26 percent of the normal rate.


STAGE 1 (At Risk), GFR > 90

STAGE 2, GFR 89-60

  • Kidney damage with mild loss of kidney function    

  • Few to no symptoms

  • Manage through healthy diet and blood pressure regulation


STAGE 3A, GFR 59-45
STAGE 3B, GFR 44-30

  • Could have fatigue, urination change, sleep problems and kidney pain

  • Speak to your doctor about a kidney-friendly diet, managing high blood

  • pressure and prescription medications that may help


STAGE 4, GFR 29-15

  • May develop high blood pressure, anaemia, bone disease or cardiovascular diseases

  • Symptoms include fatigue, nausea, taste changes, nerve issues, difficulty sleeping, and poor appetite and energy

  • See a kidney doctor to manage your disease and ask about kidney transplant

  • A dietitian can help manage your diet


STAGE 5, GFR < 15

  • Symptoms include loss of appetite, nausea, itching, swelling and making

  • little to no urine

  • Treatment options include dialysis or kidney transplant


bottom of page